OCA preloader logo
Short story writers take note! - The Open College of the Arts
To find out more details about the transfer to The Open University see A New Chapter for OCA.
Explore #WeAreOCA
Skip Navigation
Short story writers take note! thumb

Short story writers take note!

The Royal Society of Literature (RSL) has just announced that submissions for the thirteenth V.S. Pritchett Memorial Prize are now open.  There is a prize of £1,000, and the winning entry will be published in Prospect and the RSL Review. In addition to this, there will be an opportunity to appear at an RSL event with established short story writers in autumn 2012. The judges this year are Jane Gardam, Aamer Hussein and Penelope Lively.  The closing date for entries is 29th June 2012. This prize for the best unpublished short story of the year was founded by the RSL at the beginning of the new millennium to commemorate the centenary of an author widely regarded as the finest English short-story writer of the 20th century, and to preserve a tradition encompassing Pritchett’s warmth of feeling and mastery of narrative. If you write in the short story form and have work you believe it would be worthwhile to enter for the prize, you can download an entry form from the Royal Society of Literature’s website .
[Video: ‘I have measured out my life in coffee spoons‘ by Eileen Rafferty It’s not related to the competition but we liked it and the literary title seemed like reason enough.]

Posted by author: Elizabeth Underwood
Share this post:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to blog listings